Home » Encouragement » 1,237

1,237

One thousand two hundred and thirty seven miles is the distance between Warresnsburg, MO and Ansonia, CT. And soon Jill and I will be introduced once more to everyone of them. On July 1st me, and hopefully Jill, will be saying our final goodbyes here in Warrensburg as we hit the road for the long haul, physically and emotionally.

I say hopefully Jill because we have yet to find her a job in Connecticut. So, it could soon be true that the number 1,237 is more than a distance moved, it may also be a distance between. Either way, we will be blessed. I don’t say that lightly either. It is not something I am writing simple because it is appropriate Christian prose. It is not just a belief either. It is a knowing. I know we will be blessed; it is a fact.

Recently I was visiting with some members from a previous congregation of mine and I was sharing what I believe God is doing in Jill and my’s life. They had a lot of questions, and I found myself saying what I have herd myself saying a lot lately: “Everything is going to be fine.”

As those words passed from my lips into the open air it felt as if I was listening to the same old track on repeat, and it hit me. Everything is not going to be “just fine.” In this moment my mind began to quickly reflect on all that God has led me through thus far in life. I thought to myself that if I were given a choice before any of the chapters of life that I had to take a great leap of faith, go outside my comfort zone, or even experience great times of grief I would have chosen not to go through them. However, looking back now, I would not trade them for the world because it is in those chapters that 1. It is so easy to draw near to God, and 2. God teaches and blesses you according to his promises and perfect will. So I concluded, everything is not going to be just fine, it is going to be spectacular.

Luke 12:37 reads, “Blessed are those servants whom the master finds awake when he comes. Truly, I say to you, he will dress himself for service and have them recline at table, and he will come and serve them.”

This verse is written in the context of an illustration Jesus is using to teach the disciples something very important: Be ready for the master to come home. In this illustration found in Luke 12:35-48 Jesus states that those servants who are “dressed ready for service” and, who have their “lamps burning” waiting for the master to come home will be blessed. It states that if they are ready to serve him, and are waiting diligently, the roles will be reversed upon his arrival. Instead of serving, they will recline at the table and be served by the master. This is exactly what Jesus did on the cross, he reversed the rolls. When we were guilty and deserving of death, he took death for us. Because of this, we are promised that in serving Christ and in waiting for His return we will be blessed with the forgiveness of our sins. Herein lies our eternal blessing, communion with God in paradise forever. Spectacular.

However, Jill and I would be remiss if we do not also take note of how service to God has it’s blessings here in this life. James 1:2-4 reads, “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” If we must endure the trial of being separated by distance and time, or any other trial that comes with such major life change, we know God will grow us though it. Whatever happens, in seeking Him, He is going to do an amazing work on our hearts, molding us and shaping us into His likeness. Spectacular.

Moreover, in Matthew 6:31-33 Jesus says, “Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”  This is a wonderful thing. God desires for us to have no distractions in seeking His kingdom so much that in doing so, He will meet our needs. We do not need to be anxious about anything. He will provide. Spectacular.

All this to say that 1,237 seems intimidating at first, and it is easy to fall in the trap of thinking that God’s plans for us are just fine. But just fine is not what God is in the business of producing. God is in the business of spectacular, mind blowing, out of this world, and truly awesome. So, as we prepare to do kingdom work in Connecticut, we are excited to see what God will do, how he will grow us, the blessings that will come from it, and ultimately the eternal fruit we will enjoy.

As previously mentioned, the official move date is July 1st. Be in prayer for us, nothing specific, only that “his kingdom come, his will be done.” Grace and peace – Breandan

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

